Home > Food > Costco – Sunrise Energy Bars with Omega-3 (Whole Grain 100% Natural)

Costco – Sunrise Energy Bars with Omega-3 (Whole Grain 100% Natural)

UPDATE 7/24: These can now be purchased online!

Price: $6-7 for 32 bars (28g each)

Pros: Nourishing, not too bad-tasting for an energy bar, very cheap

Cons: somewhat odd perfume-y taste initially; can be upsetting on a totally empty stomach

Rating: 7/10

I’m a snacker, especially when I study, so I’m always on the prowl for affordable snacks that carry a lot of power. One of my first “power snacks” was Whole Foods baked granola, which served me many-a-time as an emergency breakfast or mid-study snack. Costco, being the great place that it is, is great for my bulk healthy snack needs – I’ve bought cashews, dried edamame (soybeans), fiber plus bars, and lots more there. So when I came across Sunrise Energy Bars in the baked goods section and saw so many bars for around $7, I had to give it a try.

My first impression when I took the first bite was, “ah crap, I just wasted $7.” There was a strange taste that reminded me of perfume in the bar. However, after giving it a chance and having the bar more than once, the taste grew on me a little and I also felt quite nourished. Especially when I’m waking up early and working, my body typically shreds through my breakfast in 3 hours or less and by mid-day I’m feeling starved. The bars, in combination with other power snacks, add a nice touch. Each bar is about 130 calories, has 6g of fat, 2g of protein, and packs 10% of your DV of fiber (the biggest advantage, in my opinion). Each bar does have about 10g of sugar, but given the marketing of this as “natural,” it’s likely that little of it is refined sugar. Another marketed perk of the bar is the Omega-3 fatty acid content – 610mg per serving.

I can’t say I eat these too often, but in terms of value for the price, these are a great snack and I’m glad to have them around when I need them. Just beware one thing: whenever I eat these when I’m in “morning starving mode,” they give me a bit of gas. So make sure to test these out on a weekend first. Besides that, they could easily be a useful and cheap addition to your dietary routine.

Categories: Food Tags:
  1. Lori
    May 26th, 2010 at 08:02 | #1

    My boyfriend and I tried these down at his brothers house in Jacksonville, FL. We really like them. I do not have a Costco membership and been trying to find out who else might carry them. We live in Columbus, Ohio… do you know of anyone else who may carry this??

  2. admin
    May 26th, 2010 at 11:17 | #2

    Unfortunately, these are a Costco-specific product, I believe. Thankfully, you don’t need a Costco membership to shop at Costco! If you know someone who has a Costco membership, you can have them go on the Costco website and buy you a Costco giftcard (up to $500, I think). This is my preferred method of shopping at Costco.

    Alternatively, if you don’t know anyone with a membership, you can buy a Costco gift card on eBay, though there is a bit of a premium – you have to pay a small amount more than the face value of the card.

  3. Matty
    August 13th, 2010 at 11:12 | #3

    I love these bars!! Don’t taste the perfume taste, but do taste a wee bit processed, but for the most part, pretty darn good and filling. I eat them almost everyday and like you, in the am they are very filling.

  4. Dave DePinto
    September 26th, 2010 at 17:26 | #4

    I M looking for bakery or supplier for those COSTCO Sunrise Whole Grain Energy Bars

    Can you help ?

  5. John L
    December 15th, 2010 at 09:57 | #5

    The new lid is hard, a royal pain to open and can cut your fingers, I don’t care for it; bars are a handy, a healthier option to sugary Clif et al

  6. JP
    January 11th, 2011 at 11:28 | #6

    Your comments are gross. I bought the same product and had no such weird taste with the first bite and they definitely did not give me gas. I eat one in the moring before I go to the gym and I’ve had no problem with gas. These are so small, it’s not enough to give you gas if you only eat one, drink some water and then work out. They are great, unfortunately, I can’t seem to find them anymore at any of the Costco’s i’ve gone to and I’ve tried at least 4 different ones and can’t find them anymore – may have to order them online.

  7. AH
    January 14th, 2011 at 16:02 | #7

    These Bars while nutritious are also great tasting!! Little bits of fruit sweeten it up & the seeds give a great texture. They are great for “on the go” & a snack in between meals – I’ve never cared for many of the “health food” products, but this is one everyone in our family seems to enjoy! A good substitute for the “Kudos” or “Chewy” Bars… (healthier too!) – not sure what to say about the “perfumey taste” or the “gas” … I haven’t experienced any of this-

  8. admin
    January 15th, 2011 at 01:16 | #8

    Perhaps they tweaked the ingredients a bit. IIRC there was a manufacturer listed on the label, but I guess that’s no use now that they’re gone from the stores.

  9. CG
    January 31st, 2011 at 18:14 | #9

    The bars have flax seeds and that alone can be gas producing for some people.

  10. March 8th, 2011 at 19:52 | #10

    i went to order these delicious bars online but Costco charges $20.00 fee to order. What the heck is that all about? That is stupid.

  11. Tricia Sweat
    March 23rd, 2011 at 09:47 | #11

    They are still sold in the stores but they were moved from the bakery area to the Granola bar/snack area. I’m interested in knowing who manufactures them as well!

  12. Shari
    March 25th, 2011 at 20:06 | #12

    On a trip to visit family I was introduced to these wonderful bars. Like some I am not a healthy food person normally but loved these. Unfortunetly I do not live anywhere near a town with a Costco so am unable to buy them myself. I do however have a brother in Chico, CA that loves me and is a member of Costco. I don’t know about other locations but as of one week ago they were still available in Chico.

  13. jennifer coelho
    March 26th, 2011 at 14:33 | #13

    I have been enjoying these energy bars for some time now and find when I slack off from eating them my daily bowel movement also slacks off. My 89 year old Mom suffers from chronic pain and is on several pain medications which have a side effect of constipation. I give her two energy bars along with pure prune juice (which I wish Costco carried) and this really helps her. These energy bars would be a great source of fiber for children who suffer from constipation from poor eating habits.

  14. Kathy
    April 14th, 2011 at 10:39 | #14

    These bars are the best!! I’ve never tasted “perfume” and my only complaint was they used to be too dry! Not anymore!!! The last 2 boxes I purchased Were noticeably moist… Which has made them perfect!
    They’ve always been available in the indpls., store, but who knows for how long… Things come and go at these places.

  15. robin
    April 14th, 2011 at 15:00 | #15

    I LOVE these bars. I lived on them everyday I was in florida and am so sad that I cannot find them in the midwest. I am going to google them and also call the florida costco and see where I might buys these. They are so awesome and very addictive. They filled me up and gave me a ton of energy and my kids really liked them too.

  16. May 20th, 2011 at 19:16 | #16

    Been told that Costco no longer carries the energy bars. Please,please tell me where I can purchase them

  17. Jay
    May 29th, 2011 at 14:55 | #17

    @AH
    That “odd” taste IS from the flax seed. I blend flax into smoothies and am accustomed to that odd flavor that is released from the flax when it is crushed. These are ok tasting, but beware that if you sit them on a plate and start eating them one by one you are taking on a lot of concentrated calories quickly. Also the fat ratio (notwithstanding that it is GOOD fat) is very high. You can very quickly eat more more fat than you wanted, especially if you are on any kind of fitness regimen that requires that you maintain your weight as a defined low level. I’m a runner, and was given a couple quart-sized baggies by a friend, and combined with my regular eating pushed me up by five pounds in just a week. That is disastrous when you are working hard to reach your ideal competition weight.

  18. kimberly
    July 24th, 2011 at 20:13 | #18

    Hi.. My 2 1/2 year old twins love these!! I also found amazon.com sells these also.. I have ordered from amazon on numerous occasions and I have always been pleased!

    Hope this helps!!!!!!!

  19. Gio
    November 29th, 2011 at 11:30 | #19

    I’ve been eating these for a couple of months now. Really enjoy them. The ingredients look awesome with no extraneous sodium, sugars, fats, or other garbage. I don’t know exactly “where” the oats and such are farmed from, but on the surface I really love these bars more than any others I’ve tried (eg, Nature Valley, Cliff, etc ..)

  20. akd
    May 26th, 2012 at 14:04 | #20

    I’ve read reviews of people saying the calories and fat in one bar is too much. Not really. When you see that it has walnuts and almonds in them, everyone knows or should know that nuts have higher fats (the good kinds) and calories. And nuts are healthy for you. Just go overboard obviously.

  1. No trackbacks yet.